Here’s Looking at You Kid!

As I reluctantly ambled down the halls to one of my classes today I happened to take notice of the different type of looks I received as I drew closer to my destination. The word look is usually defined as the act of employing one’s sight, especially in a given direction or on a given object. It’s moments like these when we feel as though we are stuck in a petri dish being examined under the microscopic lens of society. There’s the “do I know you’ gaze, the ‘you have something in your teeth’ glare, the ‘what are you wearing’ gawp, the ‘I think you look good’ gape or my personal favorite the ‘I just saw you do something embarrassing” gawk. We’ve all found ourselves in a similar position at some point in our lives where we may have become the object that caught a random stranger’s eye.

“Since light travels faster than sound, people appear bright until you hear them speak.” – Anon

When people look at you what perceptions do they make about you? How would you like to be perceived?

“You are only as wise as others perceive you to be.” – M. Shawn Cole

Let your words, actions, and deeds create the majestic Rembrandt like painting of how others perceive you to be.

Ensure that the perception people have of you correlates with the perception you have of yourself!”

Comments are welcomed.

https://fedrickbowe.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Here’s Looking at You Kid!

  1. right on …. I totally believe in the power of gratitude. Not the fluffy and flimsy silver lining sunshiney crap … but the REAL stuff … like being grateful for a friend’s patience or being willing to do something nice for someone else. The type of gratitude that you feel deep in your chest and humbles your ego…

Leave a Reply

