The Best Policy

“Do not do what you would undo if caught.” –Leah Arendt

Each day we encounter opportunities or situations in which we can flex or exercise our muscles of morality. Life is full of moments in which we can either choose to do the right thing or chose to deal with the ramifications that come with doing what is wrong. A few weeks ago I found myself at a morale fork in the road. On this particular day I decided to satisfy the mammoth sized appetite festering inside of me by treating myself to the Kernel’s secret recipe of herbs and spices (Kentucky Fried Chicken for all the anti-fast food proponents out there).

I succumbed to laziness and ordered my meal via the drive thru. My order amounted to a grand total of $5. Thus, I handed the drive thru worker a crisp five dollar bill. He (as is common practice) proceeded to hand me my food. The guy then passed me the drink I purchased and to my surprise gave me a $5 dollar bill. He immediately closed the drive through window and started preparing the next order.

What would you have done? Would you give it back? Or would you keep the money based on the premise that it’s only a measly 5 dollar bill?

“The elegance of honesty needs no adornment.” –Merry Browne

Honesty is the main component that binds the threads that holds together life’s rope bridge that leads to a better quality of life!

I dare you to aerial spray your world with the disinfectant of honesty and watch the results.

I know you are wondering so I knocked on the drive through window and returned the money. Why? I returned the money because it is my humble opinion that honesty is indeed the best policy.

Comments are welcomed…

Leave a Reply

