Habit@ for Humanity

We’ve all at one point or another acquired a behavioral pattern that has become almost involuntary. We perform these actions with pin point precision and accuracy. Unfortunately, we have the tendency to develop a few bad habits as we wake board along life’s river. They may come in the irksome or intrusive form of nail biting, knuckle cracking, cuticle picking, chronic coughing, or throat clearing.

“Bad habits are like a comfortable bed, easy to get into, but hard to get out of.” – Anon

I too have my share of bad habits. During my high school years I started cracking my knuckles. I got to the point where I would crack my knuckles unconsciously. I adopted an addict-like dependency on daily hits that came in the form of knuckle cracking. I took me a few years but I was able to free myself from the wretched clutch of my knuckle cracking habit. (Now I need to work on my back and neck cracking habit)

What bad habits do you need to make a greater effort to eradicate?

Do you have the habit of tearing others down with your sharp axe-like words? Do you struggle with the need to embellish in order to paint the portrait of your life using watercolors more appeasing to the eyes of others? Are you one to “pass the buck” and place blame one everyone but yourself? Do you adopt the negative side of a situation due to a fear of disappointment?

“First we form habits, then they form us. Conquer your bad habits, or they’ll eventually conquer you.” – Dr. Rob Gilbert

Don’t miss the opportunity to snag your golden egg of success because your beanstalk of life experienced growth stunted by bad habits!

Comments are welcomed!

 

Leave a Reply

