Father Time!

A father is often defined as a man who exercises paternal care over other persons; paternal protector or provider. In my humble opinion a father is more than a generic definition. There is no monetary value that can be placed on the importance of a father’s presence in the household.

A father goes out of his way to ensure that his kids enjoy a childhood that is superior to the one he had. A father makes time to share in the interests of his kids. A father spends countless hours teaching his child a sport, how to repair a car, or how to survive in the wild. A father takes any moment to teach his child important life lessons that will be involuntarily passed on to the next generation. A father makes time to attend as many of his child’s sporting events as he possibly can. A father in his excitement forgets to record his son’s first dunk with the camcorder in his hand because he’s temporarily suspended in midair yelling at the top of his lungs. I’ve been blessed and privileged to have amazing father. My father has greatly influenced and played a direct role in the man I’ve become today. It is my hope that I too will leave an indelible mark on my kids in a similar manner as my dad left on me.

“I believe that what we become depends on what our fathers teach us at odd moments, when they aren’t trying to teach us.” –Umberto Eco

I don’t know nature of the relationship you have with your father. However, it is imperative that you take every opportunity to build your relationship with your father while he is still alive. You can start by calling your father to tell him how much you appreciate him.

Happy Father’s Day!

A very special Happy Father’s Day goes out to my father in the Bahamas!

Comments are welcomed!

Leave a Reply

