Same old, Same old

Today was a typical morning for me. I woke up (I felt like I aged forty years due to soreness stemming from my participation in a basketball game at 10pm last night), turned on my tv and flipped to ESPN to watch Sportscenter. Instantaneously a light bulb went off in my head. “I do this every morning!” I’m sure we all have heard some variation of the phrase “As humans, we are creatures of habit.” This is true. I’m not a betting man, but I am confident that you can think of at least one thing you do the exact same way every day. We all have our routines. They may involve ordering the same item off the menu a restaurant, welcoming a workday with a cup of Starbucks, going to the gym at the same time each day, or in my case; watching an hour of Sportscenter in the morning.

We all have specific actions we repeat the exact same way every day. My advice to you is not to allow yourself to become so concerned with always abiding by the law of your routine. I’ve encountered so many people who allow something as simple as not being able to drink their favorite cup of coffee to cause them to be miserable for the entire day. Routines are nice but it’s always a good idea to “switch things up” every once in a while. Get out of the mundane rut of the routine you’ve been involved with for so long. You don’t have to change everything but just make a few small changes. For instance, if you always purchase a Frappuccino at Starbucks; buy an iced peppermint white chocolate mocha next time. If you usually pull your car forward into an empty parking spot, reverse it in next time. You should switch things up to engage your brain, stimulate your creativity and so that you’ll be happier throughout your day. I dare you to try it and see the difference!

Until we meet again….

Leave a Reply

