Rock n Roll!!

atlas“If your strength is small, don’t carry heavy burdens.” – Chinese proverb

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to cross an item off my rather prolix bucket list. I had the opportunity to embark upon a boulder jumping adventure. Boulder jumping (for those who might be unfamiliar) is the act of hopping, crawling, squeezing through, scaling steep rocky terrain in a spider like fashion, jumping onto a gigantic boulders then pulling yourself up with your arms and crab walking down steep terrain. Needless to say, this activity was extremely arduous and challenging. The golden rays of the sun pounded on my body like a nail being hit by a hammer into two wooden beams. To make matters worse, I carried a backpack filled with goodies (lots of snacks, water and Gatorades). With each passing minute, I felt as though the weight I was carrying was increasing at speed that rivals that of a cheetah found in the sub-Saharan region of Africa. I couldn’t help but to think, “I wish I had someone to help me carry all this weight!” How often do we find ourselves in a similar position?

“Life’s heaviest burden is to have nothing to carry” – Source Unknown

As humans we tend to carry the weight of the world on our shoulders. We carry insecurities, hurt, emotional wounds, stress, frustration, pressure to live up to expectations and achieve our goals, etc. We tend to carry an insurmountable amount of weight around as if we possess the ant-like strength to efficiently carry that weight for long periods of time. We don’t have to carry all our burdens on our own.  We can talk to trusted friends, family, teachers, co-workers, pastors, counselors in an attempt to lighten the load we carry. There is someone we can always approach regardless of the time of day or the nature of our situation, and his name is Jesus.

“Come unto me, all [ye] that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” – Matthew 11:28

Don’t allow your backpack of life to become weighed down with the burdensome liquids of stress, insecurities, and disappointment!

Comments are welcomed!

Link to other blog posts: http://fedrickbowe.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

