On Your Mark!

bulleye“Men never moan over the opportunities lost to do good, only the opportunities to be bad.” – Proverb

A few weeks ago I had the esteem privilege of indulging in an activity I’ve wanted to do for what seemed to be an eternity. I got the opportunity to shoot a bow and arrow. I am by no means Bear Grylls or Survivor Man but I chose to harness my inner hunter on that particular day. After the proper absorption by osmosis of the safety procedures, adrenaline began erupting through my veins in a fashion similar to that of a liter bottle of coke after dropping a few mentos inside the concoction. The target consisted of a honey-crisp apple (best apple ever) affixed on the top of the head of a manikin. The apple aligned perfectly with the bulls-eye on the target. I picked an arrow, set it into the bow, pulled back, aimed and split the apple on my first attempt! However, I missed my next 8 shots!

“Today’s opportunities erase yesterday’s failures.” – Gene Brown

How often do we miss the mark? How often do we miss opportunities to make a difference, encourage others or make an indelible mark on someone’s life? I too have missed the mark many times. Our world is filled with a plethora of people that are hurting, in need or traveling along the wrong path in life. A simple and genuine gesture such as a smile, a hello, or a hug can go further than any Nasa Space Shuttle! We all have the opportunity to impact lives!

If you’ve missed the mark after shooting an arrow from your bow of life, know that you can grab another arrow of opportunity, aim, and hit the bulls-eye (split the apple) on your next shot!

Link to other blog posts: http://fedrickbowe.wordpress.com

Comments are welcomed..

Leave a Reply

