Fearly Well!

what_is_your_deepest_fear__by_aaronwalwyn-d4p5san“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us….” – Marianne Williamson

A few days ago this heart wrenching quote resonated with me with a fury that rivals that of the African sun shining down on the Serengeti at high noon. I decided to conduct an extensive self-interrogation in the hopes of uncovering my deepest fear. Fear is often defined as an unpleasant emotion resulting from the belief that someone of something is dangerous, a threat or likely to inflict some form of pain.

We all experience some level of fears specifically related to us. We may have a phobia of spiders, heights, public speaking, being alone, needles, clowns etc. We tend to avoid these things and attempt to eradicate them from our daily lives. I am no different; my deepest fear in its most simplistic form is failure. Failure to achieve my life long dreams. Failure to accomplish my goals. Failure to adhere to the stringent standards that I’ve set for myself. I have such a high level of fear towards failure that I do not desire to have anything to do with it. I attempt to rid myself of any relationships, hindrances or thoughts that would lead me down the crooked path of failure. I desire to do any and everything I’m physically capable of to ensure that I won’t experience that abhorrent and repulsive emotion.

“Fear does not have any special power unless you empower it by submitting to it.” – Les Brown

We should not allow fear to cripple us, stifle us, or cause us to assume a powerless millipede-like curled up position. We have the ability to face, conquer, an overcome any fear we have because we are indeed powerful beyond measure.

“Too many of us are not living our dreams because we are living our fears.” – Les Brown

Don’t allow fear to become the mortar holding together the cement wall preventing you from living out your dreams!

So let me ask, what is your deepest fear?

Link to other blog posts: http://fedrickbowe.wordpress.com/

Comments are welcomed!

Leave a Reply

